Making Friends 101: Lessons from Walo

Currently listening to: the sound of laughter coming from the surgery in the clinic I work at. 

When the year started, I told myself that I would actively take part in my current relationships and friendships and also make new friends. Six months into the year and yes,  you guessed it, I had made exactly zero friends. 

Then I met Walo. 

Short for: Oluwaloni 

Pronounced: I don’t know  exactly because he says I pronounce it wrongly. (I’m a Kaduna girl,  I’m sorry. I’ll just literally murder his name.)

You know how you meet someone in the most unconventional way and you guys just instantly click and you know that in some alternate universe he’d be the Valerian to your laureline? (I just made a Valerian and the city of a thousand planets reference. Forgive me) Yes?  Well, that reader is the basis of my relationship with Walo. 

(He is most definitely going to read this. Hi,  Wally)

He is one of the most beautiful people I  know. He has known defeat, known struggle, known loss, and has been able to find his way out of the depths.

These people have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen. 

So today, I’ll be sharing ten things I’ve learnt from Walo within the course of our friendship. 

1. You are worthy of God’s love. 

He told me that I should never think myself unworthy of God‘s love. This was something I already knew but something he reaffirmed. It’s easy when you sin or do something extremely wrong in your own eyes to feel terrible and feel like you are not worth the consideration. He taught me that you will always be worthy. He loved you before he knew you. One mistake isn’t going to change that. 

2.  Let go and let God. 

God knows who belongs in your life and who doesn’t. He knows what decision works best for you and what you shouldn’t do. Trust him in that he will never lead you amiss. 

3. Have a sense of humor. 

Laugh. Then laugh some more. Laugh a lot and crack jokes.  Pull pranks and sound those clapbacks.  Use a microphone for the people at the back if you need to. He has one of those very loud, weird laughs. I mean if he ever sat behind himself in a movie or something, he’d  probably lean over and tell himself to please shut up. Always laugh when you can. A merry heart works as good as medicine. 

4. Don’t lie to yourself. 

Don’t believe there is truth in the lies that you tell yourself. If you can’t be honest with other people,  be honest with yourself. 

5. Don’t push people away who want to help you for the right reasons. 


6. Drink Coke. 

Always. Enough said.


7. Don’t complicate things.

It’s funny how we complicate things just to avoid showing what we feel. Life is too short for drama.  


8. It’s okay to want to be alone.

You don’t always have “to people” especially if you are not up to it. It’s okay to want to crawl into your little hole and keep yourself company, to get away from people drama and focus on your “personal development”. 

9. Family and friends. 

Family and Friends are what nuture our lives and make them better. I’ve learnt that it is not in what you have in life but in who you have in your life. Having the right people can make an insurmountable situation worlds easier.

10. It’s okay to cry. 

You know that a good, long session of weeping can often make you feel better, even if your circumstances have not changed one bit. It’s okay to cry but you have to stop sooner or later to decide what to do. 

Well,  there you go. Ten things I’ve learnt from Walo and I hope you’ve learnt something too. 

Ignore the serious tone of this blog post,   he is a funny, lively if not slightly insane person. Oh, he is also a total drama queen. 

Over to you, what things have you learnt from your friends? 

Leave it below in the comment section. 

I hope to feature Walo on the blog a lot. Comment below if you’d like to that? 

P. S This blog post doesn’t contain a picture of Walo because he was giving me vague responses about giving me his pictures and I didn’t like the ones I had. I’ll update it if I eventually get a picture of him he 

a) likes or

b) doesn’t like but I will still use anyway.  

Until next time, 

Stay Remarkable 

Love,  Joe. 


2. 

I’

2 Comments Add yours

  1. dheeolah says:

    Recently i have learnt from a friend that everyone deserves a second chance. love the post by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. l love that. Of a truth, everyone deserves second chances. Thank you for reading Dee!

      Like

Leave a Reply

